The Fourteenth Dalai Lama's Stages of the Path
Buddhism for the 21st Century
with Gavin Kilty

The course is based on this precious book The Fourteenth Dalai Lama’s Stages of the Path, Volume 1: Guidance for the Modern Practitioner by His Holiness the Fourteenth Dalai Lama (Author), His Eminence Loden Sherab Dagyab Kyabgön Rinpoche (Compiler), and Gavin Kilty (Translator).   

Although there are many Buddhist topics discussed and explained in the eight chapters of the book, the theme that runs through them all is the way His Holiness the Dalai Lama sees these topics as being relevant for the world these days. It is Buddhism for the 21st century, offering guidance for the modern practitioner, as stated in the title. This does not mean diluting essential Buddhist precepts, but adapting them to suit present day attitudes and conditions. In this sense, it is not a book for Buddhists alone but for all of humanity.

Gavin Kilty, who translated this book, will give an overview of each of the eight chapters, bringing out the main points, and reading out relevant passages. There is no need to have the book for the course, although that would be helpful for those who wish to explore the material more extensively.

Other Teachings by Gavin Kilty

From Faith to Tantra: Part 1 & 2

Atisha’s The Bodhisattva’s Garland of Jewels

Additional Materials


To jump to a particular session on the playlist, click the playlist icon (near the top-right corner) of the video frame to select video.

About the Teacher

Gavin Kilty spent 14 years in India studying Buddhism with Tibetan teachers. Eight years were spent at the Institute of Buddhist Dialectics Studies in Dharamsala set up by HH the Dalai Lama, where he completed the major part of the Tibetan monastic curriculum in the medium of the Tibetan language. He now works full time as a Tibetan to English translator of Tibetan texts, primarily for Thupten Jinpa’s Institute of Tibetan Classics, and as a teacher of Tibetan language for FPMT’s Rinchen Zangpo Lotsawa Program in India. His numerous publications include Lamp to Illuminate the Five Stages (Winner of the 2017 Shantarakshita Award by the Tsadra Foundation), Ornament of Stainless Light, Life of My Teacher; Biography of Tutor Ling RinpochéSplendor of an Autumn Moon, Mirror of Beryl, and Eight Great Folk Operas of Tibet. For a complete list of publications, please click here.